Who We Are

Officers, Members and Associates

The ACUA is composed of twelve men and women elected on a rotating basis for four-year terms by the membership of the Society for Historical Archaeology. It includes professionals from state and federal archaeology programs, museums, non-profit institutes, and avocational societies involved in underwater archaeology. It also includes professionals in the fields of conservation and education. Members hail from Europe, Canada, Australia, Mexico, South America, the Caribbean, and the US. Officer terms are three years. All terms expire at the ACUA business meeting held at the annual conference in January.


Chair: Kimberly Faulk Contact

Vice-Chair: Alexis Catsambis Contact

Secretary: Dave Ball Contact

Treasurer: Amy Mitchell-Cook Contact

Board Members


Dave Ball web



Dave Ball, Senior Marine Archaeologist, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Regulation and Enforcement



Amanda Evans




Amanda Evans, Senior Marine Archaeologist, Tesla Offshore







Sarah Watkins-Kenney, Chief Conservator/QAR Lab Director, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources






Kimberly Faulk, Geoscience Earth & Marine Services, Inc.






Amy Mitchell-Cook, History Department, University of West Florida




Alexis Catsambis, Underwater Archaeology Branch, Naval History & Heritage Command







Connie Kelleher



Connie Kelleher, Underwater Archaeology Unit, National Monuments Service, Ireland





Lynn Harris



Lynn B Harris, Assistant Professor, East Carolina University





Wendy Van Duivenvoorde



Wendy Van Duivenvoorde,  Assistant Professor, Flinders University








James Spirek, State Underwater Archaeologist, South Carolina Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology




Kelly Gleason



Kelly Keogh (Gleason), Maritime Archaeologist, Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument




Dave Conlin




Dave Conlin, Chief, Submerged Resources Center, National Park Service




Marc-Andre Bernier, Chief, Underwater Archaeology Service, Parks Canada


Toni L. Carrell, Ships of Discovery
George Fischer, Cultural Resources Assessments Inc.
Robert Grenier, Chief (retired), Underwater Archaeology Service, Parks Canada
Paul F. Johnston, Curator of Maritime History, NMAH, Smithsonian Institution
Peggy Leshikar-Denton, ICUCH, UNESCO Committee
Pilar Luna Erreguerena, Subdirectora, Arqueologia Subacuatica, Instituto Nacional de Antropologia e Historia


In addition to regularly elected members, the ACUA has Associate Members who provide their insights and expertise on technical issues, education, sport diver training, shipwreck preserves and management, and international issues. These associates may be either individuals, invited because of their particular expertise, or institutions, invited because of their long contributions to the field of underwater archaeology. Graduate Student Associates extend the council’s outreach to and input from the small but active community of students, who are the future of the field. All associate terms are two years.

Individual Associate Members

David Alberg, Superintendent, Monitor National Marine Sanctuary
Helena Barba Meinecke, Responsable Arqueologia Subacuatica, Peninsula de Yucatan
Dolores Elkin, Directora, Programa de Arqueologia Subacuatica, Instituto Nacional de Antropologia y Pensamiento Latinoamericano
Marion Werkheiser, Cultural Heritage Partners
Ian Oxley, English Heritage
Ole Varmer, The Office of General Counsel for International Law, NOAA
Robyn P. Woodward, Simon Fraser University

Graduate Student Associate Member

Jennifer Jones, East Carolina University
Nicole Grinnan, University of West Florida

Institutional Associate Members

Australasian Institute for Maritime Archaeology
Contact Person: Wendy Van Duivenvoorde

Florida Public Archaeology Network
Contact Person: Della Scott-Ireton

Joint Nautical Archaeology Policy Committee
Contact Person: Robert Yorke

Parks Canada Underwater Archaeology Services
Contact Person: Jonathan Moore

Maritime Archaeological and Historical Society
Contact Person: Steven Anthony

Museum of  Underwater Archaeology (MUA)
Contact Person: Kurt Knoerl

Nautical Archaeology Society
Contact Person:Chris Underwood, Project Director International Initiatives

PAST Foundation
Contact Person: Annalies Corbin, Executive Director

To Contact any of the Board Members or Associates simply follow the Contact Us link.